Add to Cart
Cart 0
Residential Homes for Seniors

Residential Homes for Seniors

$100.00 CAD

Accreditation Canada's sector- and service-based standards help organizations assess quality at the point of service delivery and embed a culture of quality, safety, and client- and family-centred care into all aspects of service delivery. The standards are based on five key elements of service excellence: clinical leadership, people, process, information, and performance.

Accreditation is one of the most effective ways for organizations to regularly and consistently examine and improve the quality of their services. The standards provide a tool for organizations to embed accreditation and quality improvement activities into their daily operations with the primary focus being on including the client and family as true partners in service delivery.

Resident- and family-centred care is an approach that guides all aspects of planning, delivering and evaluating services. The focus is always on creating and nurturing mutually beneficial partnerships among the organization’s team members and the residents and families they serve. Providing resident- and family-centred care means working collaboratively with residents and their families to provide care that is respectful, compassionate, culturally safe, and competent, while being responsive to their needs, values, cultural backgrounds and beliefs, and preferences (adapted from the Institute for Patient- and Family-Centered Care (IPFCC) 2008 and Saskatchewan Ministry of Health 2011).

Accreditation Canada has adopted the four values that are fundamental to this approach, as outlined by the IPFCC, and integrated into the service excellence standards. The values are:

  1. Dignity and respect: Listening to and honouring resident and family perspectives and choices. Resident and family knowledge, values, beliefs, and cultural backgrounds are incorporated into the planning and delivery of care. 
  2. Information sharing: Communicating and sharing complete and unbiased information with residents and families in ways that are affirming and useful. Residents and families receive timely, complete, and accurate information in order to effectively participate in care and decision-making.
  3. Partnership and participation: Encouraging and supporting residents and families to participate in care and decision making to the extent that they wish.
  4. Collaboration: Collaborating with residents and families in policy and program development, implementation and evaluation, facility design, professional education, and delivery of care.
According to the World Health Organization (WHO), the proportion of people over the age of 60 is growing faster worldwide than any other age group, as a result of longer life expectancy and declining fertility rates. This trend reflects the need for safe and effective services that would support the health and wellness of the senior population. 

Accreditation Canada's Residential Homes for Seniors Standards are for organizations that provide private or semi-private accommodation with social and recreational activities, housekeeping, meals, and a range of other services to seniors who need minimal to moderate support with their daily living activities (e.g., bathing, dressing, medication management, and transportation). Depending upon the jurisdiction, these organizations may be referred to as retirement residences, assisted living, or care homes. Long-term care services, where seniors require higher levels of care and nursing and other services available 24-hours a day, are not covered by these standards; organizations providing those services should use Accreditation Canada's Long-Term Care Services Standards.

The Residential Homes for Seniors Standards focus on resident-directed care where services are delivered in a way that maximizes quality of life and promotes residents' rights, dignity, preferences, and autonomy. 

This set of standards contains the following sections:

  • Investing in quality services
  • Building a prepared and competent team 
  • Providing safe and effective services 
  • Maintaining accessible and efficient information systems 
  • Monitoring quality and achieving positive outcomes 

All Accreditation Canada standards are developed through a rigorous process that includes a comprehensive literature review, consultation with a standards working group or advisory committee comprised of experts in the field, and evaluation by client organizations and other stakeholders. 

Share this Product

More from this collection