Add to Cart
Cart 0
Independent Medical/Surgical Facilities

Independent Medical/Surgical Facilities

$100.00 CAD

Accreditation Canada's Independent Medical/Surgical Facilities Standards apply to non-hospital facilities where invasive or operative procedures (including diagnostic and interventional endoscopic procedures) are performed with the administration of local/regional anesthesia, general anesthesia, or conscious sedation.

These standards do not apply to dental procedures or to minor dermatological procedures, including the removal of benign moles and cysts, nevi, seborrheic keratoses, fibroepithelial polyps, hemangiomas, and neurofibromata.

The standards contain the following sections:

  • Building an Effective Facility
  • Maintaining a Safe Facility
  • Having the Right People Work Together to Deliver Services
  • Coordinating and Delivering Services
  • Maintaining Accessible and Efficient Health Information Systems
  • Monitoring Quality and Achieving Positive Outcomes

The Independent Medical/Surgical Facilities Standards have been designed to address the level of risk according to the type of anesthesia provided to clients. While most of the criteria included in these standards are applicable to all facilities offering invasive or operative procedures, some criteria apply only to those facilities providing a specific level of anesthesia. Facilities answer a series of questions at the beginning of the accreditation process to determine their level:

  • Level 1 facilities provide only local anesthesia to clients. Facilities classified as Level 1 are responsible for the general criteria only (those applicable to everyone).
  • Level 2 facilities provide local anesthesia or sedation (including intravenous (IV) sedation or analgesia where the client remains responsive and breathes without assistance. Facilities classified as Level 2 are responsible for the general criteria and any additional criteria labelled as applicable to Level 2.
  • Level 3 facilities provide local anesthesia, sedation (including IV sedation or analgesia where the client remains responsive and breathes without assistance), general anesthesia, or major regional anesthesia. Facilities classified as Level 3 are responsible for all criteria included in the standards.

The applicability of criteria to each facility level is indicated throughout the standards.

Share this Product

More from this collection